Looking Back On The 80’s | Music

80s-music

Lately, I’ve found myself listening to and even buying albums from the 1980’s.  When you mention music and the 1980’s in the same sentence, people either remember, fondly, some of the great bands and great music that came out of the 80’s, or they remember the many one hit wonders, the cheesy glam bands or worse.

For the sake of this post/series, I’m going to talk about the former.  Series, you ask?  Yes.  While revisiting this music, I thought it would  be interesting to review some albums and see how they’ve held up over the years.  No doubt, some will be extremely dated, because of recording and producer trends, as well as instruments used i.e. keyboards, electric drums, etc.  Obviously, some will be dated because of musical style.  However, musical style can also transcend decades.  For example, some of AC/DC’s music is just pure rock n’ roll and though rock n’ roll continually suffers the abuses of trends, rock n’ roll will always rise back to the surface.  Sticking with the AC/DC argument:  you had the Rolling Stones, then AC/DC, then Pearl Jam, then The Hives, then the White Stripes.  You see my point?

So over the next few weeks I will select albums, year by year, and review them.  The big caveat for this series will be that these are the albums I was listening to throughout the 80’s.  These will be the albums that inspired my imagination, influenced me as a guitarist, influenced my outlook, even left impressions on my personal theology (my thoughts on God).  I’ll throw it out there now, my tastes are varied, yet oddly specific.  In same ways my tastes are deep in some areas and extremely shallow in others.  The 80’s were a time of musical exploration and discovery, which follows the norm considering I was in Jr. High when the 80’s started and in college when they finished.

What great bands could I be talking about in this series?  You can’t talk about the 80s and not talk about bands like, The Police, U2, The Pretenders, The Choir, The Clash, INXS for example.  Like I said above, I’ll review some of the albums I was listening to, some of the ones that have stuck with me and even some of the ones I’ve gone back to purchase.

Let’s get started.

  • 1980
  • 1981
  • 1982
  • 1983
  • 1984
  • 1985
  • 1986
  • 1987
  • 1988
  • 1989
11 thoughts on “Looking Back On The 80’s | Music

  1. Pingback: Boy ~U2 | Then and Now | Chase The Kangaroo

  2. Pingback: Permanent Waves ~Rush | Then and Now | Chase The Kangaroo

  3. Pingback: Zenyatta Mondatta ~The Police | Then and Now | Chase The Kangaroo

  4. Pingback: 1980 Music | Then and Now | Chase The Kangaroo

  5. Pingback: Colours ~Resurrection Band | Then and Now | Chase The Kangaroo

  6. Pingback: Rejoice, Even When Under Pressure | Chase The Kangaroo

  7. Pingback: ¡Alarma! | Chase The Kangaroo

  8. Pingback: Ghost In The Machine | Chase The Kangaroo

  9. Pingback: Mommy Doesn’t Love Daddy Anymore | Chase The Kangaroo

  10. Pingback: Talk Talk Talk | Chase The Kangaroo

  11. Pingback: Moving Pictures | Chase The Kangaroo

Leave a Reply

