Colours ~Resurrection Band | Then and Now

Music Review Series: Looking Back On The 80’s Music | 1980 Then and Now

61pheop7wml-_ss500Colours ~Resurrection Band

Released: 1980
Genres: Hard rock, Blues rock
Producer: Resurrection Band
Purchase On: iTunes / Amazon


A cousin of mine let me borrow a couple of Resurrection Band cassettes, which were definite products of the 70’s.  I liked a few of the songs, but was more excited that there was a thing called, Christian Rock.  And Resurrection Band, it seemed, was one of its first trail blazers.  According to Christianity Today, they are”the most influential band in Christian music history.”[Wikipedia – 1]

Colours was Resurrection Band’s fifth album and turned out to be a defining effort.  Not only was the quality of the recording better, but the band seemed to transition from their traditional 70’s Zeppelin sound to a more gritty AC/DC hard rock sound.

Opening track, “Autograph” blasts out with a steady beat and blazing guitar solo.  Besides a couple of slower tunes, the majority of Colours delivers solid rock n’ roll thru and thru. This is a far cry from the gospel music my dad was trying to push my way.  Not only did the music grab my attention, the lyrics were as honest and arresting.  First and foremost, the members of Resurrection Band are story tellers.  Their stories are broken into two simple themes, evangelism and worship. For a kid of 13, I loved it.

When I say their lyrics were honest and arresting, I’m thinking of songs like, “Benny and Sue” and “City Streets”, but one of my favorites is still, “The Struggle”.

“Sometimes You scare me by what You cause me to see
And I’m afraid of knowing who I am
Although You’ve changed me there’s still a whole lot of old wineskin
And to open up would destroy the me I’m afraid to show
One part of me doesn’t want to grow
But I’m tired of this lingering winter
Tired of ground so hard and cold
Plow Your way through, I’m asking You to, Jesus
Lord, You’re my only hope

Without You . . . I can’t face myself

My pride wants me to hide inside myself
But I love You an’ I don’t want our love put on the shelf
I’m tired of fighting to be who I am
Jesus, make me what You want me to be
Because of You I desire reality
A love for You is what I’m dying to receive
Though I hate what I am I understand what You’ve promised me
You’ve promised me freedom in the truth
But I can only face myself when I’ve faced You
An’ I’ll be ready to face myself when I face You”

Is Colours relevant for today?  Colours is great album to revisit.  If you haven’t discovered it yet, but you enjoyed the sounds of Judas Priest, AC/DC, Sabbath and the like, you won’t be disappointed.  For the kids who are rediscovering the influencers on 80’s rock, this band and album shouldn’t be passed up.

Listen

2 thoughts on “Colours ~Resurrection Band | Then and Now

  1. Pingback: 1980 Music | Then and Now | Chase The Kangaroo

  2. Pingback: D.M.Z. | Chase The Kangaroo

Leave a Reply

